Maynard Laswell

USHA Hall of Fame Induction: 1955

The first multiple winner of the national handball title was Maynard Laswell of the Los Angeles Athletic Club. The champion had one of the greatest underhand back-wall drives in handball history. That, combined with a fine overhand game, a side-arm fly kill, great conditioning and competitive instinct, enabled him to win three consecutive national singles titles. Laswell teamed with fellow club member Max Gold to win the doubles title the year before his first singles win.

A fine all-around athlete, Laswell competed at the national AAU level in basketball.

National Handball Championships

1923 Four-Wall Doubles Champion
1924 Four-Wall Singles Champion
1925 Four-Wall Singles Champion
1926 Four-Wall Singles Champion
1932 Four-Wall Doubles Champion


Leave a Reply